Skip to content

Judd vs. Judd vs. Judd: The Battle of the Closet Skeletons

April 6, 2011

Ashley Judd has published a memoir, spilling all the secrets of her childhood, including bearing witness to some troublesome times in the Judd home. I know all this because Yahoo had her name as a trending topic in their news section because her make-up looked bad around the eyes at a book signing. I’m less concerned with Ashley Judd’s (now ex-) makeup designer forgetting to blend her powder than I am this tidbit of information buried at the bottom of the Reuters article making the rounds:

“I was really encouraged by people I trust to include some of my own story, because why I love (humanitarian) work really baffled people, and so I eventually got willing to put it there,” the actress explained.

Naomi Judd said in a statement to Today: “I love my daughter. I hope her book does well.”

Ashley Judd called her mother’s attitude to the revelations “exquisitely gracious”.

Naomi Judd and her country singer daughter Wynonna are set to reveal details of their own tempestuous relationship in a six-part TV documentary series starting on the Oprah Winfrey Network on Sunday.

Oh snap. Ashley released the tell-all book, but mom and sister can play it cool because they have a 6-part series with O, and let’s be real: more people will watch that then will take the time to read her whole book. I’m curious to see how this all plays out.

Which Judd is your money on?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 8:16 pm

    The one with the degree from Harvard! I love me some Ashley Judd.

    • April 6, 2011 8:36 pm

      me too. she has an amazing monologue in the movie Bug that is her “and then you’re calling me lady” scene!

  2. April 6, 2011 8:40 pm

    Nothing against the other ladies, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Wynonna.

    • April 6, 2011 8:41 pm

      I would like to read Ashley’s book during the commercial breaks of the Naomi/Wynonna series.

  3. April 6, 2011 8:46 pm

    Go Wynonna!

  4. April 7, 2011 2:56 am

    Has Morgan weighed in yet?

    • April 7, 2011 7:19 am

      He might have some words of wisdom for her while they’re filming the movie about dolphins:

      http://collider.com/morgan-freeman-harry-connick-jr-ashley-judd-dolphin-tale-3d-charles-martin-smith/42162/

  5. roobot5000 permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:21 am

    I love the Judds, I mean, what’s not to like? With that said, you can mark my tally under Ashley.

    Perhaps there should be a book club (hey Oprah!) in which we read Ashley’s book and follow it up with the 6 part series.

    • April 7, 2011 7:21 am

      Roobot, I’d be in that club with you! I’m going to put the book on hold at the library right now….

Leave a Reply

