Skip to content

Sammy Hagar on His Alien Abduction: “It was a download situation.”

March 23, 2011

I’ll be honest, I expected this revelation from David Lee Roth. During an interview with MTV Hive about his new memoir – Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock (written with Joel Selvin) – Van Halen’s on/off frontman mentioned the intergalactic shenanigans that plagued him prior to his career as a hammy rock band frontman:

That’s right. It was real. [Aliens] were plugged into me. It was a download situation. This was long before computers or any kind of wireless. There weren’t even wireless telephones. Looking back now, it was like, “Fuck, they downloaded something into me!” Or they uploaded something from my brain, like an experiment. “See what this guy knows.”

When questioned about the voracity of his statement, Hagar emphatically added:

That happened. That friggin’ happened, I’ll tell you right now. Another thing happened when I was about four that I didn’t put into the book. One time I saw what I considered to be, well, at the time I thought it was a car with no wheels. We lived out in the country and I saw this thing floating across a field, creating this big dust storm. I threw rocks at it and shit. And I don’t know what happened after that.

Hagar also noted this was not his first close encounter! In fact, at the tender age of four, Hagar had a visitation, though the details were sketchy at best, therefore not included in the actual memoir. In any event, here’s hoping a stint on Dancing With the Stars is in Hagar’s future.

It’s a bit cheeky to include this track, but it’s actually one of my favorite Van Hagar tracks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 11:46 am

    Just think, if those aliens hadn’t turned their dials up to 11, we might never have had such timeless hits as “I Can’t Drive 55.”

  2. Kip permalink
    March 25, 2011 8:54 am

    Wonder if that’s why he always seemed out of it. Maybe he really was out of it.

  3. March 25, 2011 8:54 am

    I’ll be honest, I expected this revelation from David Lee Roth

    hahahahahaha

  4. elizabeth permalink
    March 25, 2011 11:43 pm

    Hagar seems really odd, doesn’t he? I don’t mean to sound like a jerk, but why do people give celebrities forums for this sort of thing? Seems ill advised.

Leave a Reply

